Classic Album Review

Album of the Week: Death – The Sound of Perseverance (1998)

You already know that Death is one of the original Death Metal bands out of Florida, and you already know that they are one of my favorites (and one of the “OG’s” Top Five Favorites)! The Sound of Perseverance is Death’s seventh and final studio album, released August 31, 1998 by Nuclear Blast. You really can’t go wrong with any of the Death records, and I’ve already reviewed my favorite (‘90s, Spiritual Healing) and rated it 10/10!! But The Sound of Perseverance is different and special.

So, Chuck Schuldiner (vocals, guitars) IS Death, and just about every album has a different line-up (except for Leprosy [1988] and Spiritual Healing). Here, Chuck is joined by Shannon Hamm (guitar), Richard Christy (drums), and Scott Clendenin (bass) for one Hell of a performance. When Chuck signed with Nuclear Blast, he agreed to do one last Death record before moving on to his new project, Control Denied. And what a Swan Song The Sound of Perseverance is for Death. 

If you’re paying attention, you’ll notice the evolution of the band Death, but also the man, Chuck Schuldiner, as you listen to the Death discography. From the stunning first record (‘87s, Scream Bloody Gore), where Chuck breaks new ground in Metal, to The Sound of Perseverance where it all culminates in a technical, melodic masterpiece. His vocal patterns, lyrical content, and voice (itself) changes as you move through Death time-space. But the musical content progresses also, from pure Death Metal in the first three albums, to a serious challenge to the status-quo during the next three (Human [‘91], Individual Thought Patterns [‘93], and Symbolic [‘95]), and finally to the high and lofty tones of The Sound of Perseverance. 

Marked by Death’s signature tempo changes, soaring guitar solos, thunderous rhythm sections, and in your face (yet, clean) lyrical content, The Sound of Perseverance is the perfect closing recording for a truly great band.

Song Listing of the 1998 release:

  • Scavenger of Human Sorrow 
  • Bite the Pain
  • Spirit Crusher
  • Story to Tell
  • Flesh and the Power it Holds 
  • Voice of the Soul
  • To Forgive is to Suffer
  • A Moment of Clarity
  • *Painkiller (Judas Priest cover)

Rating: 10/10!! Just a great record!

Favorite Song: I could just point to the list above, but Spirit Crusher is my favorite (though it is not “better” than any other on the album)! 

Stay Metal,