Music News and Interviews

North Carolina Music Hall of Fame

The North Carolina Music Hall of Fame was created in 1994 to “recognize, promote and commemorate the musical heritage of the State of North Carolina.” This organization showcases the artistic talent of N.C. musicians through their Hall of Fame installations, historical exhibitions, and more. The NCMHOF showcases the talents of extraordinary artists like Shirley Reeves and Doris Jackson of The Shirelles, Nina Simone and Ben E. King. When open, the Hall of Fame offers free admission. 

On August 5, 2020, the NCMHOF announced their 2020 Hall of Fame Inductees. The six inductees include The Briarhoppers, Donald Lawrence, Charles Whitfield, The Squirrel Nut Zippers, Jermaine Dupri, and Michael Mauldin. The NCMHOF additionally awarded previous inductees Roberta Flack and Tony Brown Lifetime Achievement Awards for their achievement of lifetime success in the music industry and their impact on American music. The induction ceremony has been postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic but is expected to be held in 2021. 

The North Carolina Music Hall of Fame has also recently launched a new live series called “Listening to Legends,” which interviews Hall of Fame inductees. Anyone is able to share questions and comments for these individuals, and the series is streamed live to the NCMHOF’s Facebook and YouTube pages. I definitely recommend checking the series out, you can find out more about it on their Twitter or website. 

– Miranda

Source: I

By Miranda

I am a senior in Political Science at NC State and lover of R&B, rap, international, and electronic.