Non-Music News

Artists Join Forces for Woodie Guthrie Tribute

July 2012 would mark the 100th birthday of one of music’s greatest and most influential artists, Woodie Guthrie. Unfortunately, Guthrie would not be able to mark this occasion himself, as he passed away in 1967. However, the Guthrie estate has some big things planned for the would-be 100 year birthday of the artist. 429 Records will be publishing “Note of Hope: A Celebration of Woodie Guthrie.” Featuring artists from Tom Morello to Lou Reed to Jackson Browne, the compilation will feature songs which have been interpreted from archival writings of Guthrie. It will be released September 27. For a full track listing look below.

Al0ngside all of this Mermaid Avenue will be released as a box-set featuring outtakes and a documentary showcasing the making of the album. Mermaid Avenue was a collaboration where artists including Wilco’s Billy Bragg. This is set for a release some time next year.

Note of Hope track listing:

1 “The Note Of Hope” – Van Dyke Parks
2 “Wild Card In The Hole” – Madeleine Peyroux
3 “Ease My Revolutionary Mind” – Tom Morello
4 “The Debt I Owe” – Lou Reed
5 “Union Love Juice” – Michael Franti
6 “Peace Pin Boogie” – Kurt Elling
7 “Voice” – Ani DiFranco
8 “I Heard A Man Talking” – Studs Terkel
9 “Old Folks” – Nellie Mckay
10 “On The High Lonesome” – Chris Whitley
11 “There’s A Feeling In Music” – Pete Seeger & Tony Trischka
12 “You Know The Night” – Jackson Browne