88.1 WKNC fm raleigh | the revolution
The Lounge Video Sessions
WKNC 88.1 FM

Rock Report

Contact the Promotions Department if you want to add an event or if you notice an error in the Rock Report.

Thursday, August 21

Cat's Cradle - Back Room
Carrboro

Breathe
rock, pink floyd, tribute

Astronaut Sex Pants
spaghetti funk

Deep South
Raleigh

Adam Pitts
rock/alternative/pop

Kings Barcade
Raleigh

Banditos
honky tonk/rock&roll

Howlin' Brothers, The
country/americana

Local 506
Chapel Hill

Unwed Sailor
instrumental

Growing Old, Growing Up
alternative/indie/post-rock

Neptunes Parlour
Raleigh

Heads on Sticks
psychedelic/ambient rock

Edy Bower
world/pure global mood music

Pinhook
Durham

Wailin Storms
rock/punk/doom

Chest Pains
indie/punk

Grand Strangers

Tir Na Nog Irish Pub
Raleigh

Local Band Local Beer

Coytah
indie pop

Star Studies
folk rock

Eric and Erica
indie/dream pop

Friday, August 22

Cat's Cradle - Back Room
Carrboro

Listen & Win Tickets!

Clockwork Kids
space rock

Ghostt Bllonde
indie rock

Body Games
experimental/diy

Deep South
Raleigh

Maurice Mangum
songwriter/acoustic singer

Kings Barcade
Raleigh

DSCVRY vs FOOLY COOLY

Gabriel Szatan
electronic

Pinhook
Durham

Listen & Win Tickets!

Drug Yacht
rock. roll. other.

Le Weekend
rock/indie/progressive

Heads on Sticks
psychedelic/ambient rock

Saturday, August 23

Cat's Cradle - Back Room
Carrboro

Listen & Win Tickets!

Young Magic
electronic/space

Bear in Heaven
pop

Deep South
Raleigh

Threads
hardcore/emo punk

Tcai
hip-hop/electronic/edm

Lions & Liars
pop/surf rock

Lincoln Theatre
Raleigh

DayShell
rock/alternative

Middle Class Rut
rock/alternative

Chevelle
rock/alternative

Sunday, August 24

Kings Barcade
Raleigh

Much Worse
fast hardcore punk

Unholy Thoughts
hardcore/punk/metal

Wriggle
punk rock

Monday, August 25

Cat's Cradle - Back Room
Carrboro

Listen & Win Tickets!

Boogarins
alternative rock

Clean, The
indie rock

Local 506
Chapel Hill

Ri¢hie
rock/garage/freedom

Tuesday, August 26

Cat's Cradle
Carrboro

Listen & Win Tickets!

Shabbazz Palaces
hip hop

Kings Barcade
Raleigh

Set and Setting
ambient/post-rock/instrumental

Mouth of the Architect
metal/doom metal

Neptunes Parlour
Raleigh

Ghostt Bllonde
indie rock

SISU
electronic rock

Crocodiles
indie rock

Thursday, August 28

Deep South
Raleigh

Phononova
indie

Eleveneven
garage/punk rock

Love Udder
rock/low-fi/thunder milk

Ashley Larue
country/southern rock/acoustic

Motorco Music Hall
Durham

Suppressive Fire
metal

Crimson Countess
metal/death metal

Thrash Can
metal

Tir Na Nog Irish Pub
Raleigh

Local Band Local Beer

Octopus Jones
"spank wave boogie"

North Elementary
rock/indie

Deep Ecology
rock n roll

Friday, August 29

ArtsCenter
Carrboro

The Polyphonic Spree
psychedelic pop, symphonic rock

Kings Barcade
Raleigh

Listen & Win Tickets!

The Manimals
rock/psychedelic/surf punk/skate

Aztec Hero
rock/alternative/grunge

Avast
metal/deathcore/party

Southland Ballroom
Raleigh

Dear Desolate
metalcore

Akissforjersey
rock/progressive/christian

Saturday, August 30

Southland Ballroom
Raleigh

Cry Wolf
dub/grime/industrial

The Alley
Raleigh

musicSPARK 2014: Rock ‘n’ Bowl FUNdraiser

Love Udder
rock/low-fi/thunder milk

Eleveneven
garage/punk rock

Phononova
indie

Wednesday, September 3

Kings Barcade
Raleigh

HOPSCOTCH KICK OF PARTY

Deejay Earl TEKLIFE
electronic

DJ Paypal

Tuesday, September 9

Southland Ballroom
Raleigh

The New Mastersounds
funk/jazz fusion

doby
rock/soul/funk

Thursday, September 11

Sunday, September 14

Motorco Music Hall
Durham

Ty Segall
garage/folk/psychedelic

WAND
indie/electronic

Monday, September 15

Wednesday, September 17

Southland Ballroom
Raleigh

The Family Ruin
alternative/metal

Ice Nine Kills
metalcore

Secrets
post-hardcore

Volumes
metalcore

Crown The Empire
post-hardcore

Sunday, September 21

Tuesday, September 23

Cat's Cradle
Carrboro

Knuckle Puck
rock/alternative

No Bragging Rights
hardcore/metal

Senses Fail
punk/screamo/emo

Wednesday, September 24

Thursday, September 25

Friday, September 26

Saturday, September 27

Sunday, September 28

Monday, September 29

Tuesday, October 7

Thursday, October 9

Southland Ballroom
Raleigh

doby
rock/soul/funk

The New Mastersounds
funk/jazz fusion

Wednesday, October 15

Monday, October 20

Wednesday, October 29

Cat's Cradle
Carrboro

Temples
indie/psychedelic

Spires
indie/psychedelic

Friday, October 31

Saturday, November 8

Tuesday, November 11

Friday, November 14

Memorial Hall - UNC CH
Chapel Hill

Steep Canyon Rangers
country/americana/bluegrass

Mipso
americana/bluegrass

Wednesday, December 31

PNC Arena
Raleigh

Listen & Win Tickets!

Avett Brothers
rock

WKNC 88.1 FM is student-run non-commercial radio from N.C. State University. We pride ourselves on our alternative programming of indie rock, electronic, metal and underground hip-hop and have been consistently named among the best in the Triangle by Independent Weekly. Boasting 25,000 watts, WKNC can be heard throughout the Triangle and far beyond via our webcast. Our aim is to provide NCSU students with the knowledge needed for a career in the broadcast industry and listeners with music that doesn't suck.

WKNC 88.1 FM
Campus Box 8607
343 Witherspoon Student Center
Raleigh, NC 27695-8607

requests 919.515.0881
or 919.515.2400
fax 919.515.5133
business 919.515.2401


Warning: mysql_close(): 6 is not a valid MySQL-Link resource in /home/wkncweb/includes/footer.inc on line 30